Ugh.


If my day were a book it would be, “Alexander and the Terrible, Horrible, No Good, Very Bad Day.” Why you ask? Did someone die? Did I get diagnosed with some terminal disease? Did I toss a winning lottery ticket? No. I don’t have a reason for feeling all the feelings about this bad day. It could be worse. Somewhere in West Africa, people are dying from a horrible virus. But I’m complaining about my bad day. Total first world problems.

But even though I’m trying hard to put on my “perspective-cles”sometimes a day is just blah. Turns out my daughter had a bad day too. So tonight, after she told me about her day, we just cried together. Just the two of us. Hugging and crying it out. She told me when she is upset writing makes her feel better. I told her I completely understand (hence the blog post tonight). This morning I started off the day asking God to show me what I need to prioritize in my day. By the end of the day, I was trying really, really hard to praise Him despite my circumstances. I don’t know if that’s what He had in mind, but that’s how it turned out. I just need to trust more. Worry less. But lawd, that’s easier said than done.

Leave a Reply

